Skip to main content

4-H in Nova Scotia is supported by very active volunteers who work to support the mission of 4-H in the province. The objectives and mission of 4-H Nova Scotia are realized by implementing a significant number of programs and activities for both the youth members and adult volunteers.

4-H Nova Scotia Board of Directors

The 4-H Nova Scotia Board of Directors consists of volunteers and staff (ex-officio) representing all regions in Nova Scotia. The Board appoints committees of 4-H volunteers, members, and staff to assist, coordinate, and implement programs as required throughout the year.

4-H Nova Scotia (previously known as the Nova Scotia 4-H Council) was created to act on behalf of the 4-H movement in Nova Scotia. Operationally, 4-H Nova Scotia staff handles programming planning, implementation, and management.

The 4-H Nova Scotia Board of Directors is now accepting nominations for the 2024-2025 year. To learn more about this opportunity, check out the 4-HNS-BoardofDirectors-NominationPackage-2024 .

2024 Board of Directors

Name | EmailTitleTerm
Mila MacLeanPresident2022 – 2024
Vanessa LentzVice President2022 – 2024
Lynn McGillTreasurer2024 – 2026
Teresa McNuttSecretary2023 – 2025
Cynthia DueyDirector2022 – 2024
Katie HirtleDirector2022 – 2024
Lacey FisherDirector2023 – 2025
Sally van de WielDirector2023 – 2025
Meg CarrollDirector2024 – 2026
Terri ClarkDirector2024 – 2026
Katie MacNeilYouth Advisory Committee2023 – 2025

Committees of the 4-H Nova Scotia Board of Directors

Committees of Members Appointed from the Board

Members are appointed from among the Board’s own members and/or persons selected externally by the Board according to the approved process. Directors and other members on these committees will be recommended annually by the Executive and approved by the Board of Directors (BOD). The President will convene the first meeting of each committee, the chair and recording secretary will be selected, and the agenda will be approved at the first meeting.

Executive (officers of the Board)
Mila MacLean, President; Vanessa Lentz, Vice President; Teresa McNutt, Secretary; Lynn McGill, Treasurer
Conflict Management & Dispute Resolution (CMDR)
Mila MacLean, President; Vanessa Lentz, Vice President; Meg Carroll, Director; Cynthia Duey, Director; Katie Hirtle, Director
Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, Accessibility (DEIA)
Lynn McGill, Treasurer; Teresa McNutt, Secretary; Sally van de Wiel, Director; Katie Hirtle, Director; Katie MacNeil, YAC Member
Lynn McGill, Treasurer; Vanessa Lentz, Vice President; Lacey Fisher, Director; Terri Clark, Director
Fund Development
Vanessa Lentz, Vice President; Sally van de Wiel, Director
Mila MacLean, President; Vanessa Lentz, Vice President; Lacey Fisher, Director; Meg Carroll, Director; Terri Clark, Director
Teresa McNutt, Secretary; Teri Clark, Director

Committees of Registered Trained Leaders

Members are appointed from registered Trained Leaders, in good standing, within 4-H NS, according to the approved process. The members of these committees will be recommended by the Governance Committee and appointed by the BOD, consistent with the term lengths established in each committee’s Terms of Reference (TOR). The BOD will appoint a Director and the Executive Director will appoint a staff person to act as a non-voting resource to each committee.

Jordan Vosman; Erica MacInnis; Tammy Barkhouse; Meredith Hiltz; Crissy Swallows; Holly Hines; Mila MacLean (Board); Melissa Nicholson (Staff)
*currently looking for members (email to learn more)
Life Skills
*currently looking for members (email to learn more)
Light Horse
*currently looking for members; Hayley Fulton (Staff)
Kamryn Findlay (Chair); Jeff Reeves; Jessica Swinkels; Kimberly Demone, Jacob Greenough, Katie Hirtle (Board); Kayla Graham (Staff)
Catherine Manning (Co-Chair); David Allen (Co-Chair); Ruby MacKenzie; Stephani Allison; Rod Corkum; Patrick Milner; Vanessa Lentz (Board); Shannon Weckman (Staff)
Members Voice
Katie MacNeil (YAC); Cynthia Duey (Board); Nicole Martin (Staff)
*currently looking for members; Kayla Graham (Staff)
Royal Beef
Jacob Fisher; Adam Fraser; Heather Kouwenberg; Sarah Morse; Stephani Allison; Byron Lamb; Lacey Fisher (Board); Jay Woodworth (Staff)
Royal Dairy
RJ Dillman (Coloured Breed Associations); Luke McLellan (NS/NL Holstein Branch); Carol Versteeg (Versteeg Memorial Award); Anne Crowe (Crowe Memorial Award); Phillip Vroegh (Dairy Producers/Industry Partners); Brian Masters (NS Dairy Leader) ; Cynthia Duey (Board), Angela Masters (Staff)
Peter Winship; Dwayne Foster; Jacob Greenough; Will Kerr; Trevor Moxsom; Theresa Wood; David Allen; Marylynn Floyd; Angie MacIssac; Sally van de Weil (Board); Megan Whitehead (Staff)

Resilience Plan

COVID-19 has resulted in economic and operational uncertainty in 4-H Nova Scotia and its communities, the worst disruptive crisis in its 100-year history. Simultaneously, 4- H NS assumed complete control and responsibility for the permanent delivery of the 4-H program in Nova Scotia.

For 4-H NS to meet the challenges arising from these changes, we need an agile and strategic response to identify and proactively manage the risks that can be anticipated and the investment in capabilities to cope with events that cannot be expected.

In order to:

  1. Minimize the harm done by the adverse consequences arising out of COVID-19 and the actions taken to date to comply with provincial and local laws, regulations, and requirements,
  2. Shepherd 4-H NS through the transfer of control of the 4-H program from the Nova Scotia Department of Agriculture and
  3. Bring 4-H NS back to full functioning in the safest and most practical way,

4-H NS has implemented a resilience plan to guide and support the next two years.

2021- 2023 Resilience Plan

Annual General Meeting

The deadline for submission of Resolutions to be considered at the 2024 Leadership Forum is January 30, 2024.

2021 Bylaws

The Board of Directors introduced 4-H Nova Scotia’s proposed new structure and bylaws in 2021. A series of open town halls were held to field questions and bring our 4-H community together as we work towards the next 100 years of successful program delivery to youth in Nova Scotia.

Work of the Board

During the strategic planning sessions in the spring of 2024, the membership asked for increased transparency. As a result, the Board of Directors moved to release the minutes of their board meetings to keep the membership informed. Going forward, Board meeting minutes will be published here after their approval.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email